Armor Technology, Blog

UL752 Bulletproof Glass

There are 8 levels of UL572 bulletproof glass.  Citizen Armor focuses on Level 2 and Level 5 of the UL572 standard.  Level 2 is rated to stop handgun rounds, while level 5 is rated to take a single rifle shot.  This standard of bullet resistance is relevant for both vehicle armor and building armor.  The UL752 rating system helps understand ballistic protection levels for glass. 

Truth In Bulletproof Terminology

The truth is that no product is 100% bulletproof.  Each product is bullet resistant up to different levels of threats.  Products are designed, tested, and designated into categories of ballistic performance.  The Underwriter’s Laboratory (UL) sets forth the UL752 Standard for Bullet-Resisting Equipment.

UL752 Ratings Do Not Allow Spalling

The UL752 specifications do not allow for spalling.  Spalling is the deformation and fragmentation of a material such as glass after an impact.

“1.2 As used in these requirements, the term “bullet-resisting” signifies that protection is provided against complete penetration, passage of fragments of projectiles, or spalling (fragmentation) of the protective material to the degree that injury would be caused to a person standing directly behind the bullet-resisting barrier.” –

To be certified as UL752 compliant each product must be tested to offer absolute protection.  If a product spalls after impact and the shrapnel that could injure occupants of a building or vehicle it will not pass as a UL752 certified product.  

UL752 Level 2 Specifications

Level 2 is designed to withstand the impact of .357 magnum jacketed lead soft point projectiles.  This level also protects against the 9mm and .22 caliber projectiles.

UL752 Level 5 Specifications

Level 5 is rated to stop a full metal copper jacket 7.62mm rifle with a lead core. This means it is also designed to stop the ever popular 308 Winchester.

UL752 Ratings Are Not Always Rankings

Ratings,, follow a system of levels that build upon one another.  For example level 2 being superior to level 1 and so on.  The UL752 system does not always work this way.  

For levels 1 to 3 each progressive level is superior to the others.  Once a product is rated above these levels the standard varies.  Just because something is rated to withstand a level 8 threat it doesn’t mean it meets the standard for level 7 automatically.  It is important to evaluate the level of expected threats and install the right type of bulletproof glass product. 

Contrary to expectation, the UL752 system isn’t a matter of rankings but rather a way to describe products. This helps you, the consumer, choose the right type of bulletproof glass product for your application. 

Get Armored With Citizen Armor

Let us help you choose the right bullet resistant glass for your vehicle or building.  We specialize in providing the protection you expect for commercial buildings, guard booths, civilian vehicles, armored transport vehicles and more.